Truth is, I’m a band geek.

In ten years, it won’t matter how much my left wrist hurt when we hit the middle of the third movement. It won’t matter how frustrated I was when it rained that one day, or how tired was for all of August. The little petty thing won’t be what I remember. I will remember this though, the right now. I’ll remember how it feels to be here with all of you, and how there is this draping of comfort and joy that’s being weighed down by little drops of sadness because this is when the lasts really start to happen. Next year, we’ll be everywhere, in all different parts of the country, learning and playing music and not playing music and making new friends and talking to the old ones about how great marching band is. Next year will be the first autumn in four years that hasn’t revolved around Mondays and Thursdays and Fridays and Saturdays. It’s hard to think about that without feeling completely empty.

 We’re really lucky, I’ve learned. Not many people get the chance to be a part of something so special. In four short years, we’ve made (our town) somewhere. We’ve come a really, REALLY long way from ‘The music of Aaron Copland,’ and not just in terms of performance. We’ve literally transformed this music department and school and each other even, as a result. When I walk in the band room, I feel completely at home. This is where I belong. I have no intention of studying music seriously in college or pursuing marching band as a career, but oddly, this is where I go when I’m bored or lost or lonely. This place is my second home and you’re my second family. Joining this group was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

I do a pretty good job of keeping my emotions inside of me, but right now, I want you all to know that when I graduate, this is what I will be saddest to be leaving. I love music. I love marimba. I love the way my hands feel after a good rehearsal, but I love how my soul feels after I leave the field with all of you even more. It’s been a good four years – better than good, actually – and all I want is to freeze time so that this never ends. So thank you, for giving me that feeling.

(written to Ingrid Michaelson’s ‘Keep Breathing’)

What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

